The state of the nation, to date

Although initially a film SLR user, for the last 11 years or so I have primarily been a rangefinder user. My rangefinder use has been limited to two film cameras. Initially the brilliant and economical little Cosina produced Voigtländer Bessa R2, and then the more heavy weight (in many senses) Leica M6. I also have the nifty little finder-less Voigtländer Bessa L, for use with a 25mm lens and accessory finder. I have continued with the M6 as my main camera, even now that decent digital rangefinders are available. The cost of a digital Leica M is, from my point of view, simply out of the question, and I was never overly impressed with the Cosina produced Epson branded digital rangefinders.

In terms of digital, I had a Konica Minolta a-7 Digital (aka Maxxum / Dynax 7D), which I enjoyed very much until it died. Now I use a Panasonic Lumix GF-1, and it remains my only digital camera (aside from, on occasion, my cell phone or iPod Touch).

However, I am seriously considering buying a new digital camera, and the only real contender at the moment is the Fujifilm X-Pro 1. Apart from the digital Leica Ms, this is the only camera, as far as I can tell, which would give me a satisfactory interchangeable lens rangefinder experience. As already stated, the Leica cameras are just too expensive. The X-Pro 1 is also quite expensive however, so I am still not certain whether or not I will buy this camera, even if I come to decide it meets all my needs / performs satisfactorily in other areas.

Thus, this blog is an attempt to work my through the process of making a decision.

One thought on “The state of the nation, to date

  1. I have now owned the Xpro1 for a couple of weeks. My previous camera was (is) a Nikon FM2. I’m of the old school where everything has a knob, and you check light with a light meter etc… the Xpro is a tool for someone who is make photography as a craft. I mean that if you like to plan you shots, work at them etc… paint on canvas rather than photocopy. You will love this camera. The quality of the manufacture is top notch. The image quality is more than you’d expect for the cost. The “pro” label is clearly about that more than anything else. I am not attracted to a plastic looking computer with a lens even one of good quality. I tried but get turned off and I end up putting it on the shelf. The xpro1 reminds me of my FM2 but with all the digital bells and whistles under the hood. A pleasure to use. Good luck on your quest.
    -s

    Like

Leave a Reply

