On Certain Japanese Photographers

Having written just the other day about William Klein, I note just now that the recent exhibition “William Klein + Daido Moriyama” at the Tate Modern finished earlier this year in late January. Which in turn reminds me, I have two (non) stories about famous Japanese photographers.

Not so long ago I sat down next to Daido Moriyama on the train. He was asleep.

That, as they say, is the end of the story.

I work probably less than two hundred metres from Araki‘s office, AaT ROOM, in Shunjuku-ku, Tokyo. Never seen him anywhere near there though.

And that is the end of that story.

I have two more (non) stories about Araki, but I’ll save them for another time.

Leave a Reply

