Fujifilm X-Trans Cameras And The Idea Of A Light Travel Kit

I have to admit, I feel a disconnect to much of what is written about the X-series cameras. Actually, a disconnect with many of today’s camera users full stop.

Historically, many (most?) only had one camera and lens, and often that lens was fixed. When I was a child and teenager, people with an SLR often only had one lens, and their camera was considered to be a quite fantastical, complex machine. Cameras were expensive. These days, entry level dSLR & kit zoom sets are quite cheap. Factoring in inflation, I paid more for my first film SLR and single fixed-focal-length lens than you pay today for an entry level dSLR kit. And I was buying second hand!

So, I get that things are (relatively) cheaper now, but really, where does this idea that you need 8000 lenses come from? More importantly, why do I read about people claiming two or three lenses is their perfect stripped down X-Trans travel kit? And others marvelling at the wonder of going somewhere with only the fixed lens X100(s)? Am I really that old and antiquated that a single lens (while you’re out and about for yourself) seems normal to me?

Anyway, I’m on holiday with the X100s, and it’s doing just fine.

_DSF1565-2     Aoraki / Mt. Cook, Mackenzie Country, Aotearoa

_DSF1555  Aoraki / Mt. Cook, Mackenzie Country, Aotearoa

_DSF2003

Matai FallsThe Catlins, Aotearoa

2 thoughts on “Fujifilm X-Trans Cameras And The Idea Of A Light Travel Kit

  1. Pingback: Fujifilm X-Trans Cameras And The Idea Of A Ligh...

  2. Pingback: Fujifilm X-Trans Cameras And The Idea Of A Ligh...

Leave a Reply

