Fujifilm X-Series Batteries, or Photographer, heed thyself

I’ve written before about how I don’t really have a problem with the X-Series flaky battery meters. I pretty much treat mine as a four stage sign that says ‘”can take photographs / won’t be able to take photographs any minute now so get ready to get your spare battery out / won’t be able to take photographs any second now so actually get your spare battery out / can’t take photographs any more so change the battery.” As I’ve also mentioned, I don’t need to know if I have 75% or 52% or 27.362% battery life left. That information doesn’t help me take photographs, and really just means ‘you can take photographs.’

In a way, working with a camera like the X100s around live action is like shooting film in the same kind of situation, where you would leave a few frames at the end of the roll, just in case you suddenly needed them, while you got the next roll out and ready to change. You used to time the exact moment of change to a definite lull when you knew absolutely that you wouldn’t need to take a photograph. That’s what I do now when the red battery mark appears; I get the next battery out, knowing that at any moment now when the red empty battery box appears, I’ve got about three to five frames up my sleeve if I suddenly need them.

Of course, just like film, you need that next one to be in your pocket or bag. And that, Ladies and Gentlemen, is why there are no photographs to accompany this post…

One thought on “Fujifilm X-Series Batteries, or Photographer, heed thyself

  1. Been there, done that. I have 3 spares lying around because I also forget where the I stashed the last one. I also use rubber bands – band on good to go, no band, needs to be recharged.

    Hope all is going well. Not sure if you came across this.

    Downside. I end up with loose rubber bands in my pockets and bags.

    Cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

