Buying: iMac 27-inch 5K Retina vs. Fujifilm X-Pro2

So, recently I had saved up my monies to the point where I could afford a new iMac 27-inch 5K Retina. Or a Fujifilm X-Pro2 and some nice glass. Almost to the yen, both in terms of how much I had and what each cost – cosmos trying to tell me something?

Conundrum!

Long story short, bought the iMac, cos that’s what I really needed. My ageing Mac Mini just struggles too much, with too many hangs and crashes. I feared with the larger X-Pro2 files it would fall to bits.

But the whole process brought up some questions. All about choices.

I had enough money to buy the top tier model iMac, 32GB of extra third party (Other World Computing) memory and one ‘build-to-order’ upgrade. But which one?

Internet to the rescue. Except, everyone’s an expert and it took ages to wade through opinions. Too many people just said, get everything. Yay for those with no budget limits. Meanwhile, back in the real world…

Anyway, I’ll save the nitty gritty for the next post(s). Meanwhile, here’s (almost) the first photo processed on the new computer.

_DSF0474-3 X-T1 & XF16-55mm f2.8, Capture One Pro, Lightroom, VSCO, and the speed freak iMac

Typed with a little Action Woman help

Leave a Reply

